The Secret’s Out: My Most Requested Cookie Recipe

For years I have been asked by family, friends, neighbors, and even strangers for this cookie recipe. This is one of only three recipes that I have decided to keep to myself all these years, with the exception of a few close family members who were ‘sworn’ to secrecy. I mean, is that really so selfish of me? I have shared with family and friends, and now the WEB, all my other most requested recipes. I don’t know exactly what it is about these little cookies that command such attention. Maybe it’s the soft and chewy texture, or the fragrance of molasses, cinnamon and cloves, or quite simply the taste. But whatever it is, I can no longer keep this to myself and sit back and watch while my husband is being ‘pressed’ at work for his wife’s recipe. Yes, that’s right. He’s been forced to endure regular phone calls from the ‘Cookie Stalker’ in another State with pleas for my recipe . Well Caren, this one’s for you, HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! ( and NO, I wont tell you my icing recipe! Can’t a gal keep a few secrets??? ……..and so the stalking continues *grin*).
dcp_5264edit2.jpg

Soft and Chewy Molasses Cookies

Ingredients
1 cup packed brown sugar
3/4 cup shortening
1/4 cup molasses
1 egg
2-1/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt
Granulated sugar, to roll cookie dough in before baking

Directions
Combine brown sugar, shortening, molasses, and egg in large bowl; mix together until light and airy. Stir in flour, soda, cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and salt; mix until combined. Shape about 2 tablespoons dough into balls; roll in sugar to coat. Bake at 375°F. for 10 to 12 minutes. Ice if desired. Enjoy!

TIP: These cookies freeze well. Make a double batch and have a few on hand in the freezer.

NOTE: These cookies also ship well. I have sent many dozen to our soldiers stationed in Iraq with rave reviews and requests for more. So share a batch with a friend.

6 Responses

  1. Yum! Thanks! 🙂 And yes we will continue to torture your husband. It makes the day go faster.

  2. I knew if I kept after him he’d eventually cave…I also gave him my “real” address to send the royalty checks :o)

    They’re delicious, thank you so much for sharing!

  3. Oh Kathy, after how hard I tried to keep this secret?! Now what am I going to use for Christmas gifts? : )

  4. You’re welcome, ‘Real Cookie Stalker’ Thank you for letting me have a little fun with you. AND, while your popularity points will rise ten-fold if you share them with family and friends, I will leave you with this WARNING…It wont matter how great you make pies and cakes, salads and side dishes, or even have some ‘award winning’ recipes that would be perfect for the next family gathering or pot-luck, you will be REQUIRED to bring these cookies! So, I thank you again, and HAPPY BAKING!

  5. Thankyou so much for sharing this recipe. I have been sending them to Iraq via the Soldiers Angles program. You are an angel yourself..

    Donna

Leave a Reply

