Green Power Boost: Spinach Smoothie

I can’t think of a better way to ‘eat’ my spinach! Okay, you’ll have to get past the fact that they’re ‘green‘…which kids will love, and the fact that they’re spinach…which you will love, these smoothies are delicious! I have had this recipe for over 20 years and have served it up often, with rave reviews. Yes! everyone from kids to adults love this healthy smoothie. I must admit though, half the fun is not telling your guests what makes this smoothie ‘green’ until after they’ve tasted it. So sorry Jamba Juice I think I’ll keep my 4 bucks, I’ve got my own ‘Boost.’

Spinach Smoothie

Ingredients
1/2 cup orange juice
1 cup fresh baby spinach leaves
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1 cup vanilla ice cream

Directions
Combine all ingredients in a blender container. Cover; blend at medium speed until smooth. Garnish with an orange slice if desired.


Find out all you wanted to know on the nutritional benefits of spinach at The World’s Healthiest Foods web site

3 Responses

  1. These are one of my favorite treats. Easily better than Orange Julius or Jamba Juice. The best part is the look on peoples faces when they go to take the first sip of this Green treat.

  2. I also make my children a spinach smoothie. I do low fat plain yogurt, banana, a frozen fruit like blueberries, strawberries, oranges, pears,peaches……spinach, flax seed, wheat germ, vitamins, prune juice not from concentrate, or apple not from concentrate, and a little honey to sweeten. I highly recommend this smoothie my kids love it. They are 9 and 2 Go easy on the prune juice i use it for my oldest son. enjoy

  3. Great internet site. will visit once again

Leave a Reply

